Garden Wildlife Safari

Garden Safari #7

I am never stuck for subjects when I go to France. Architecture, churches, street subjects, a bit of still life/fine art and landscapes are my usual fare. However, I’d never tried wildlife photography. I spent a little while desperately trying to photograph hummingbird hawk moths but even with shutter speeds above 1/100th sec. I could get a sharp enough image. Never mind, I thought, I’ll go bug hunting…

Using my Fujifilm X-20 to shoot in Super Macro mode with spot metering I set off around the garden to see what I could find. It wasn’t long before I found some suitable subjects and I spent a very pleasant hour taking photographs. All the images were taken hand-held and I have to say that I was delighted with the way the X-20 performed. Very little post-processing needed to be done, mainly tweaking the black and white points, softening the colours (I find the film simulations saturate greens a little too much) and cropping.

Sadly I can’t tell you any of the names of these little insects except for the one just below, which is a shield beetle, common in the UK as well as mainland Europe. Oh! and the snail, too!

All the images are best viewed in full size; just click on each one and then use the left < on your browser to go back. Enjoy! I got an awful lot of pleasure taking these images.

Garden Safari #1

Garden Safari #2

Garden Safari #3

Garden Safari #4

Garden Safari #5

French Garden Safari

Leave a Reply

