MONO, SQUARED

For a little while I had another blog called Mono Squared. At the time I was inspired by the format of square black & white images; I still am. These three shots were all taken in Newcastle-on-Tyne on my recent visit using my Fujifilm X-T1 and processed in Lightroom 5 and Exposure 7.

Using prime lenses and a square format really makes you think about composition. I tend to use the 4:3 format and then set the crop tool so that I can work on the composition. Once I’m satisfied, I make the crop permanent and then start to tweak the image before converting to mono. I do, from time to time, set the capture to square particularly when I’m taking my time producing images. It’s a great way to work.

Take a look at my Flickr feed to see lots more square black & white images.

Two Lights

Stairwell #3a

Vanishing PointAll images  ©Tony Harratt 2015

2 thoughts on “MONO, SQUARED

Leave a Reply

