The Joy of JPEG’s

Following on from yesterday’s post about Fuji’s X-Trans files I’ve made a JPEG image using my X-T1 and Fujinon XF 16-55mm ƒ2.8 zoom lens. My aim was to see just how good the Fuji X-Trans JPEG files could be.

The image below was shot hand-held at 1/180 sec & ƒ8; the lens was set to 53mm. After capture I downloaded the images into Lightroom v.6.3, where I cropped it slightly to reduce some dead space to the right. Next, I removed any chromatic aberrations in the Lens Correction module and… that was about it! No need for any tweaking but please bear in mind that this is a very low resolution image.

Here’s the result:

Shadow Play #1

Shadow Play #1(detail a)

I then took the image a stage further by adding a tonal contrast preset to the image. With just one click of the old mouse, the image was transformed into this:

Shadow Play #1(tonal)

Shadow Play #1(detail)

The additional detail from the preset really sets off the image, I think. Total time processing the images was about five minutes for all four.

It’s not a scientific experiment but I do feel that it shows just how good the Fuji X-Trans files can be.

Comments and questions most welcome on this post…

All Images © Tony Harratt/The Fuji Freak – 2015-2016

3 thoughts on “The Joy of JPEG’s

Leave a Reply

