Something for the Weekend

I love the trapezoidal bridge spanning the road between the multi-storey car park and the John Lewis store in Liverpool 1. I had been looking for an alternative view of the bridge little while and having been dropped off in the car park I went in to see what I could find. I went a couple of floors up so that I was looking at the bridge from above. It took me a little time to get the angles just right poking my new 16-55mm ƒ2.8 zoom lens through slats. I finally got a shot that I was happy with. Once home I tried some different settings and finishes in Lightroom and Alien Skin’s rather excellent Exposure X.

There’s a bit of a moral here, too: never take the first view you see of the subject. Stop, walk around, go up, down, left, right before settling on a location. Check the light and for any obstructions. Do try a test shot before settling on your shot. Trust me, it pays great dividends in the long run.

This image is from my ARTitecture series…

Image © Tony Harratt/The Fuji Freak – 2015-2016

5 thoughts on “Something for the Weekend

Leave a Reply

