Bruce Gilden

Although I didn’t get to Bruce Gilden’s lecture at the Photography Show, I did catch up with him at a book signing at Dewi Lewis’ booth, his current publisher. Sadly, the book I was going to buy sold out so I missed out but I did get him to sign a short article in the Royal Photographic Society magazine. Hurrah!

I also took some shots of him, my favourite being the one below. It wanted a gritty image to go with a gritty photographer! For those of you who don’t know about Bruce Gilden, he’s a Magnum Photographer and street shooter who loves to get “in your face” images. I have one of his books, “Facing New York”, which I got shortly after seeing an exhibition of his work in Wolverhampton a few years back.

Nice guy, with time for everyone at the booth… Thanks for your time, Bruce.

Bruce Gilden #1

Image © Tony Harratt/The Fuji Freak – 2016

6 thoughts on “Bruce Gilden

    1. Oh, he is… top photographer of street and literally getting “in your face”. I discovered his work probably three years back just after I decided I could manage without a job and was finally able to follow my passion. I’m a lucky man… Best, as always, Tony

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

