Muddy Puddles

Muddy puddles? Well, there certainly were yesterday when I spent the day in the Peak District National Park. The rain we had had over the Easter holiday had further soaked the ground and some of the footpaths were almost impossible to negotiate.

I had two false starts: Gradbach – grey and overcast – and Flash, both very small villages, also murky. I was about to give up when the sun broke through as I approached The Roaches, rocky outcrops on the southern border of the park. Boots were donned and warm clothes and I set off. The weather wasn’t the best, in fact, I encountered a little sleet and snow, rain, wind and sunshine. Three great hours were spent making images, which I will post over the coming days.

The first batch is a “tour” of The Roaches and comprises a dozen images. The second batch will be images from other places I stopped at and a third batch will be some monochrome edits of images from the day.

Here we go…

All images © Tony Harratt/The Fuji Freak – 2016

Notes: All images taken with my Fujifilm X-Pro2 at ISO 200 using a variety of film simulations. Processed with Lightroom v.6.5, Alien Skin’s Exposure X and Niksoft’s Silver Efex Pro.

The Roaches can be found to the north of Leek in North Staffordshire. Take the A53 from Leek towards Buxton (it’s a Roman road) and turn left onto a side road signposted Upper Hulme. Take the first left and this road runs directly past Hen Cloud and The Roaches.

Parking is limited but free and in summer there is usually a park and ride system in operation.

This collection is also my Something for the Weekend series offering this week.

Oh, yes, muddy puddles. My partner’s granddaughter (aged 2) absolutely loves muddy puddles; indeed, EVERY puddle is a “muddy puddle” to her. She’d have loved The Roaches!

9 thoughts on “Muddy Puddles

    1. Thanks so much for all the notes, Matt. Yes, it’s a great location and the X-Pro2 handled everything very well, indeed. There will be another batch from the same shoot early next week but looking at different locations… Did your X-Pro2 arrive safely? Best, Tony

      Like

      1. Looking forward to seeing more.

        Yes, it arrived but I haven’t had a chance to really use it yet. It’s a beauty! Next week I have a few sessions lined up. I’m really looking forward to it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

