Landscapes – Formby, Peak District and New Brighton

It hasn’t all been architecture! I’ve been out and about over the past couple of weeks mainly testing new kit. I’ve bought a new tripod – a Manfrotto 290 with a three-way head – and the final piece of camera hardware, a Fujinon XF90mm ƒ1.2 lens.

I’ve tried to get to as many locations as possible over the past weeks re-visiting the Peak District National Park as well as Formby and New Brighton on the Merseyside coast. These images have been subject to new processing techniques, still using Lightroom. I read an article about using the Tone Curve in addition to the highlights/whites and shadows/blacks and this has added a new dimension to my landscape and seascape images. In addition, I have been using Niksoft’s Color Efex 4 to further enhance the images.

I hope you like these images of which I’m very pleased with…


Fort Perch Rock, New Brighton

I make no excuses for featuring this image twice mainly because I wanted to share with you, dear friends, how it was processed and perhaps to try some of the techniques for yourselves. Firstly, no filters were used at any point in the capture – that’s no ND graduated ones for the sky and foreground. The starburst was made using a very small aperture (ƒ18).

The sky needed a filter to reduce the brightness of the sky; indeed, two filters were needed before I got everything corrected. The foreground needed to be lightened and a third filter was used to “lift” the shadows. All the grad filters were made using the grad tool in the “Basic” section of Lightroom. It was necessary to set the black and white points using the highlight/white and the shadow/black sliders before using the Tone Curve using the medium contrast preset.

Most of the work was now done and it just remained for the colour saturation and vibrance settings to be adjusted as well as adding a -13 vignette to darken the edges slightly. From start to finished item took no more than 10 minutes.

I hope you found this mini-tutorial useful. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.


All images © Tony Harratt/The Fuji Freak – 2016

3 thoughts on “Landscapes – Formby, Peak District and New Brighton

  1. Nice one Tony.. ummm ! .. there is no such thing as ‘one final piece of camera hardware’.. I bet we all want some new magic from Fuji in a year or two, haha, Like to know how you get on with the 90mm, it is my next buy too.. cheers Drew

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drew, it’s an amazing piece of kit! Really sharp & the bokeh is to die for! I didn’t really need it but I had a Nikon 70-200 full frame lens just festering in its box so I px’d it for the 90mm. No regrets at all. I’m on the road but I’ll post a couple of pictures from it here when I get home. Hope all’s well with you – 2nd heatwave in a week here 😎

      Like

Leave a Reply

