Experimental Photography


Over the past few weeks I’ve been experimenting with some new techniques I’ve been reading about. There’s two techniques that have stuck in my mind and if you follow my Twitter feed, you may have seen the images I’ve created using them.

The first is ‘Intentional Camera Movement’ (ICM) where a slow shutter speed is used to blur the scene. As with all experimental work there is a degree of hit and miss; with ICM there is a significant miss element but when you get it (almost!) right, it is very rewarding. The image I’m posting using this technique was taken in Liverpool’s Sefton Park during the Africa Oye festival. A shutter speed of 1/15sec was employed and the camera allowed to drop vertically.

The second technique came from Valda Bailey, a photographer from Sussex. She has been producing images using multiple exposures – any number from 1 to 100! She is able to blend these images in her Canon dSLR to create a surrealistic picture. I had seen her work last year at an exhibition in Southwell, Nottinghamshire but my interest was aroused at another Nottingham event in early June where she gave a presentation of her work and tips on how to achieve a satisfactory image.

My X-Pro 2 has only the capacity to capture two images for a multiple exposure. I put some thought into how I might enhance just two images and came up with using Alien Skin’s Exposure X software. This little program has three options that can be used satisfactorily: a texture; a light leak; and a border. I’m very pleased with the way this second image has come out.

And here are the two images; I hope you don’t think I’ve lost the plot!

Intentional Camera Movement
Multiple exposure – close up of a flower head and the field they were in

All images © Tony Harratt/The Fuji Freak – 2016

Notes: If you’re interested in learning more about these techniques take a look at Doug Chinnery‘s article in Outdoor Photography magazine (July edition) about experimental techniques for landscape photography.

To find out more about Valda Bailey’s work, click on her name (on the left). She has recently published a book through Triple Kite Books entitled ‘Fragile‘, which can be ordered via her web site and is a wonderful source of inspiration..

4 thoughts on “Experimental Photography

  1. These are both fantastic. I especially like the first. But now that I look again, I can’t decide. I would love to try but I’m still learning all that my X-T1 can do. I will definitely bookmark this post and give both a try when I become more adept. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a whole heap of fun, Emilio. The trick is being patient & thinking carefully about how much movement you need. The double-exposure image is a little more complex but building it into a useable image is very rewarding… Best, Tony

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

