Instagram

As some of you may recall I dumped Flickr a few weeks ago. I didn’t know quite where to post the images I produced so I decided to temporarily use Instagram. I’ve not been disappointed…

Instagram has proved to be an excellent choice. I have had to spend a little time getting my work recognised by that time has been well spent and I am now often getting upwards of 50 ‘likes’ on an image. I’ve been fortunate to have the support of three established Instagram feeds who have all featured some of my work.

What I do like is the camaraderie amongst the Instagram community. There’s very little back-biting or criticism and if I have a grumble about Instagram, it’s those who spam-post your site with offers of 1,000’s of visitors going to your site to ‘like’ an image. I want people to come voluntarily to view my photographs.

So, if you’re interested in getting your work seen more widely, give Instagram a try. It’s great to see your fan base grow – however slowly or quickly that happens – and for the comments that are often made.

See you on Instagram…

6 thoughts on “Instagram

  1. « if I have a grumble about Instagram, it’s those who spam-post your site with offers of 1,000’s of visitors going to your site to ‘like’ an image. I want people to come voluntarily to view my photographs.» I agree. Je bloque leur site systématiquement. Happy to see you on Instagram…

    Like

  2. Hi

    As you know I use WordPress but I have also used IG for 4 years now and have met many fellow photographers on Instameets – many pros like myself are now using it in combination with a variety of media to get work out there and also as a resource. You have some excellent work – my advice is dont put it all out at once interact steadily and you will connect with those that appreciate your work versus those who simply seek likes. I have followed you and look forward to seeing more of your imagery. Regards Scott

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the advice, Scott… I do tend to keep my traffic down but your thoughts have set me thinking on another plane & your suggestion seems very sound. I’ll give it some further thought. Thanks for the follows both here and elsewhere.

      With all good wishes,

      Tony

      Like

    2. Ha-ha! Thanks for the two images, Scott… I’ve just hit the follow button. I’m looking to be on the west coast of Scotland in October purely for photography… just at the planning stage but Skye is a definite!

      Best,

      Tony

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

