The Peak District National Park

Over the past few weeks I’ve been visiting the Peak District National Park on a fairly regular basis. Some of the images you may have seen on my Instagram feed in the sidebar of the blog.

I visited Chatsworth House in Derbyshire on Sunday last to see the sculpture show there. On the way back the evening light was settling in and I stopped in a number of places to grab an image or two. I’ll filter some of them into posts as the autumn gathers pace but I really wanted to share with you just three images that I’m pleased with.

Shuttlingsloe, Wildboarclough, Peak District National Park – a colour version of this image has been entered for one of the weekly competitions on Twitter. I wondered just how good it would be as a black & white image… here it is and I’m even more pleased with this version than the colour one! Best viewed in full screen mode; just double-click on the image to enlarge it.
Reflections, The Roaches, Peak District National Park – I took a wrong turn on my last visit to The Roaches and ended up with this perfect reflection in the overspill section of Tittesworth Reservoir.

The header image is of a sunset over the Cheshire Plain and photographed from The Roaches.

Incidentally, if you are local to the Peak District, there is a rather super book available entitled “Peak District – Through the Lens” by James Grant. It contains  details of locations you might like to photograph within the Peak District. Its 400 pages are stuffed with maps, directions, images, kit advice, post-processing, planning and tips to enjoy the many locations you will find in the Peak District. I bought my copy at Chatsworth House but any bookshop would be happy to order a copy for you. The ISBN is as follows: 978-0-9933156-0-2.

2 thoughts on “The Peak District National Park

Leave a Reply

